People

Max Planck Institute for the Structure
and Dynamics of Matter / CFEL
Building 99 (CFEL)
Luruper Chaussee 149
22761 Hamburg / Germany

Hamburg phone prefix: +49 (0)40 8998-

Laboratory Bldg. 49b-002: -6292

Laboratories CFEL (Bldg. 99):

Michael Först (EG.031) -86009
Michael Först (EG.039) -86011
Michael Först (EG.043) -86013
Prep Lab (EG.052) -86014
Chemistry Lab (EG.054) -86015
ARPES-lab (EG.129) -86057
Laser-lab (EG.131) -86058
Cleanroom (EG066): -86026
MBE-lab (EG127): -86059

Andrea Cavalleri

Andrea Cavalleri

Director Condensed Matter Department

Andrea is founding director of the Max Planck Institute for the Structure and Dynamics of Matter. He heads the Condensed Matter Department at the MPSD located in the Center for Free-Electron Laser Science (CFEL).
He's a Professor of Physics at the University of Hamburg and at the University of Oxford.

See his full bio.

Hamburg → Contact
Bldg. 99, Rm. 02.079, Phone:-5354
andrea.cavalleri@mpsd.mpg.de

→ Andrea's selected publications

Senior Staff Scientist

Michael Först

M Foerst

Michael investigates nonlinear phononics in the solid state, that is the anharmonic response of the crystal lattice to resonant phonon excitation by intense mid-infrared and terahertz light pulses. His research aims to contribute to the understanding of ultrafast lattice-driven phenomena in correlated electron systems, such as insulator-metal transitions, control of magnetic order, or light-induced superconductivity in high-TC cuprates. Michael exploits ultrafast hard and soft X-ray diffraction at free electron lasers, as well as table-top ultrafast linear and nonlinear optical spectroscopy. In addition, he develops new schemes for the generation and shaping of waveform-stable intense pulses at mid-infrared and THz frequencies.

Bldg. 99, Rm. 02.071, Phone: -5360
michael.foerst@mpsd.mpg.de
→ more

Scientists

Michele Buzzi

Michele Buzzi

Michele joined Andrea's group in February 2016 on a fellowship of the Swiss National Science Foundation. He aims to investigate light-induced effects in organic superconductors by using both ultrafast x-rays techniques and ultrafast optical spectroscopic techniques under pressure.

Bldg. 99, Rm. 02.051, Phone: -6215
michele.buzzi@mpsd.mpg.de

→ more

Michael Fechner

Michael's research explores the interactions and dynamics within multifunctional materials using computational methods. In particular, he focuses on materials that exhibit a complex interplay of structure, charge and spin degrees of freedom. The aim of his research is to develop formalisms that explain and describe light induced materials properties.

Bldg. 99, Rm. 02.059; Phone: - 6625
michael.fechner@mpsd.mpg.de
→ more

Daniele Nicoletti

Daniele Nicoletti

Daniele’s research focuses on the study of nonequilibrium superconducting states induced by laser pulse stimulation at infrared and terahertz frequencies. He is primarily working on high-TC cuprates and organic molecular superconductors, but his interests extend, more generally, to the optically-driven nonlinear dynamics in a variety of complex solids. To this end, he is combining a broad spectrum of pump-probe techniques with the use of high external pressures and strong magnetic fields.

Bldg. 99, Rm. 02.061, Phone: -6208
daniele.nicoletti@mpsd.mpg.de
→ more

Humboldt Fellows

Ankit Disa

Ankit’s research focuses on the design and control of novel electronic and magnetic phases in complex oxide heterostructures. He is particularly interested in exploring how optically driven lattice and electronic excitations can be employed to induce/enhance emergent interfacial phenomena in such systems.

Bldg. 99, Rm. O2.057, Phone: -6214
ankit.disa@mpsd.mpg.de

Read more …
Eryin Wang

Eryin joined Andrea’s group as a postdoc in Sep, 2017. He is interested in investigating the light-induced superconductivity in organic superconductors using ultrafast techniques. To this end, he is trying to combine molecular beam epitaxy (MBE) method with ultrafast techniques developed in this group.

Bldg. 99, Rm. 02.057 , Phone: -6214
Email: eryin.wang@mpsd.mpg.de

Read more …

PostDocs

Kenneth Beyerlein

Ken is interested in imaging the ultrafast structural changes in strongly coupled electronic materials induced by THz and mid-IR laser pulses. The goal is a time resolved depiction of lattice coupling, showing the atomic motion and tracking coherent domain dynamics.

Bldg. 99, Rm. O2.052, Phone: -88114
kenneth.beyerlein@mpsd.mpg.de

Read more …
Meredith Henstridge

Bldg. 99, Rm. 02.045, Phone: -5373
Meredith.Henstridge@mpsd.mpg.de

Read more …
Biaolong Liu

Biaolong joined our group in fall 2014 and will investigate new schemes for the generation of intense mid-infrared light pulses.

Bldg. 99, Rm. 02.056, Phone: -6252
biaolong.liu@mpsd.mpg.de

Read more …
Amit Ribak

Amit joined Andrea’s group as a postdoc in March 2019. He is interested in investigating light-induced superconductivity using ultrafast techniques in the presence of external magnetic fields.

Bldg. 99, Rm. 02.049, Phone: -88102
amit.ribak@mpsd.mpg.de

Read more …
Mariana Chavez Cervantes

Mariana's research focuses on the study of nonequilibrium superconductivity in organic compounds with ultrafast transport techniques. Currently, she is developing microstructured devices on chip which integrate a coplanar stripline with an alkali-doped fulleride K3C60 thin film. With this technique, she can study the transport properties of the nonequilibrium superconducting state upon optical excitation in the mid infrared.

Bldg. 99, Rm. 02.055 , Phone: -5371
mariana.chavez-cervantes@mpsd.mpg.de

Read more …
Gregor Jotzu

.

Bldg. 99, Rm. O2.045, Phone: -6207
Gregor.Jotzu@mpsd.mpg.de

Read more …
Albert Liu

Bldg. 99, Rm. 02.059, Phone: -
albert.liu@mpsd.mpg.de

Read more …
Rashmi Singla

 

Bldg. 99, Rm. 02.049, Phone: -6216
rashmi.singla@mpsd.mpg.de

Read more …

PhD Students

Joseph Adelinia

Bldg. 99, Rm. 02.065 , Phone: -88119
joseph.adelinia@mpsd.mpg.de

Read more …
Sebastian Fava

 

Bldg. 99, Rm. 02.0 , Phone: -
sebastian.fava@mpsd.mpg.de

Read more …
Alexander von Hoegen

Alexander investigates the nonlinear lattice dynamics in ferroelectric materials induced by resonant large-amplitude phonon excitation. The goal of this work is to coherently control the ferroelectric polarization potentially leading to its ultrafast switching.

Bldg. 99, Rm. 02.054, Phone: -6551
alexander.von-hoegen@mpsd.mpg.de

Read more …
Benedikt Schulte

Benedikt is investigating how optically driven phonons affect the electronic properties of twisted van der Waals heterostructures. To probe the resulting conductivity changes, he develops on-chip THz spectroscopy and ultrafast transport techniques, which can be performed on length scales below the diffraction limit and on time scales comparable to the duration of the ultrafast laser pulse used to excite the sample.

Bldg. 99, Rm. 02.045, Phone: -88122
benedikt.schulte@mpsd.mpg.de

Read more …
Matthias Budden

Matthias investigates lattice driven phase transitions in complex oxides with a focus on dynamic coherent stabilization of the transient state. To this end, he is developing a high power mid-infrared source with pico- to nanosecond tunable pulse length.

Bldg. 99, Rm. 02.052, Phone: -6574
Matthias.Budden@mpsd.mpg.de

Read more …
Dawei Fu

Dawei investigates control of superconductivity in high-Tc cuprates under external magnetic fields using pump-probe spectroscopy in the THz regime. He is currently working on experiments on La2-xBaxCuO4 with strong-field THz pulses, aiming at probing and manipulating states in which superconductivity coexists with charge and spin order.

Bldg. 99, Rm. 02.065, Phone: -6209
dawei.fu@mpsd.mpg.de

Read more …
Edward Rowe

Bldg. 99, Rm. 02.056 , Phone: -88112
edward.rowe@mpsd.mpg.de

Read more …
Niloofar Taherian Hosseinabadi

 

Bldg. 99, Rm. 02.065 , Phone: -88122
niloofar.taherian@mpsd.mpg.de

Read more …

Beamline Scientists

Thomas Gebert

Thomas is developing an optical scheme capable of generating of mid-infrared pulses of tunable duration in the nanosecond range. In addition, he is involved in ARPES experiments.

Bldg. 99, Rm. O2.075, Phone: -6589
thomas.gebert@mpsd.mpg.de

Read more …

Guests

Stephen Clark

Stephen is frequently visiting our group within the ERC project Q-MAC. He provides theoretical support in understanding THz driven complex systems, such as cuprate high-TC superconductors or nickelates.

Lecturer at the University of Bath, Department of Physics
Email: s.r.clark@bath.ac.uk

Read more …

Distinguished Visiting Scientists

Hideo Aoki

Emeritus Professor
Department of Physics, University of Tokyo, Hongo, Tokyo 113-0033, Japan

Electronics and Photonics Research Institute
Advanced Industrial Science and Technology (AIST)
Umezono, Tsukuba, Ibaraki 305-8568, Japan

Visiting: June-July 2018

Email: aoki@cms.phys.s.u-tokyo.ac.jp

Abhay Pasupathy

Associate Professor

Dep. Physics, Columbia University in the City of New York   ⇒ Condensed Matter Physics
1307 Pupin Hall, Mail Code 5206
Phone: (212) 854-6335

Personal Web Site

Visiting: Oct.-Dez. 2018

Email: apn2108(at)columbia.edu

 

Roberto D. Merlin

Peter A. Franken Collegiate Professor of Physics; Professor of EECS
Department of Physics, University of Michigan

Visiting: May 2019, May-June 2018, May 2017, June-July 2016

Email: merlin@umich.edu

Paolo Radaelli

Professorial Fellow in Physics, Wadham College;
Dr Lee’s Professor of Experimental Philosophy at the Clarendon Laboratory,
Department of Physics, University of Oxford

Visiting: April/May 2019, May-June 2018, October-December 2017

Email: Paolo.Radaelli@physics.ox.ac.uk