People

Max Planck Institute for the Structure
and Dynamics of Matter / CFEL
Building 99 (CFEL)
Luruper Chaussee 149
22761 Hamburg / Germany

Hamburg phone prefix: +49 (0)40 8998-

Laboratory Bldg. 49b-002: -6292

Laboratories CFEL (Bldg. 99):

Michael Först (EG.031) -86009
Michael Först (EG.039) -86011
Michael Först (EG.043) -86013
Prep Lab (EG.052) -86014
Chemistry Lab (EG.054) -86015
MBE-lab (EG.129) -86057
Transport-lab (EG.131) -86058
Cleanroom (EG.066): -86026
FTIR-lab (EG.137): -86059

Andrea Cavalleri

Andrea Cavalleri

Director Condensed Matter Department

Andrea is founding director of the Max Planck Institute for the Structure and Dynamics of Matter. He heads the Condensed Matter Department at the MPSD located in the Center for Free-Electron Laser Science (CFEL).
He's a Professor of Physics at the University of Hamburg and at the University of Oxford.

See his full bio.

Hamburg → Contact
Bldg. 99, Rm. 02.079, Phone:-88101
andrea.cavalleri@mpsd.mpg.de

→ Andrea's selected publications

Senior Staff Scientist

Michael Först

M Foerst

Michael investigates nonlinear phononics in the solid state, that is the anharmonic response of the crystal lattice to resonant phonon excitation by intense mid-infrared and terahertz light pulses. His research aims to contribute to the understanding of ultrafast lattice-driven phenomena in correlated electron systems, such as insulator-metal transitions, control of magnetic order, or light-induced superconductivity in high-TC cuprates. Michael exploits ultrafast hard and soft X-ray diffraction at free electron lasers, as well as table-top ultrafast linear and nonlinear optical spectroscopy. In addition, he develops new schemes for the generation and shaping of waveform-stable intense pulses at mid-infrared and THz frequencies.

Bldg. 99, Rm. 02.071, Phone: -88105
michael.foerst@mpsd.mpg.de
→ more

Scientists

Michele Buzzi

Michele Buzzi

Michele joined Andrea's group in February 2016 on a fellowship of the Swiss National Science Foundation. He aims to investigate light-induced effects in organic superconductors by using both ultrafast x-rays techniques and ultrafast optical spectroscopic techniques under pressure.

Bldg. 99, Rm. 02.051, Phone: -88115
michele.buzzi@mpsd.mpg.de

→ more

Ankit Disa

Michele Buzzi

Fellow of the Max Planck - New York City Centre for Non-Equilibrium Quantum Phenomena

Ankit’s research focuses on the design and control of novel electronic and magnetic phases in complex oxide heterostructures. He is particularly interested in exploring how optically driven lattice and electronic excitations can be employed to induce/enhance emergent interfacial phenomena in such systems.

Bldg. 99, Rm. O2.057, Phone: -88117
ankit.disa@mpsd.mpg.de

→ more

Michael Fechner

Michael's research explores the interactions and dynamics within multifunctional materials using computational methods. In particular, he focuses on materials that exhibit a complex interplay of structure, charge and spin degrees of freedom. The aim of his research is to develop formalisms that explain and describe light induced materials properties.

Bldg. 99, Rm. 02.059; Phone: -88118
michael.fechner@mpsd.mpg.de
→ more

Daniele Nicoletti

Daniele Nicoletti

Daniele’s research focuses on the study of nonequilibrium superconducting states induced by laser pulse stimulation at infrared and terahertz frequencies. He is primarily working on high-TC cuprates and organic molecular superconductors, but his interests extend, more generally, to the optically-driven nonlinear dynamics in a variety of complex solids. To this end, he is combining a broad spectrum of pump-probe techniques with the use of high external pressures and strong magnetic fields.

Bldg. 99, Rm. 02.061, Phone: -88120
daniele.nicoletti@mpsd.mpg.de
→ more

Eryin Wang

Daniele Nicoletti

Eryin joined Andrea’s group as a postdoc in Sep, 2017. He is interested in investigating the light-induced superconductivity in organic superconductor using ultrafast techniques. He combined on-chip ultrafast transport technique with K3C60 thin film grown by MBE system. Based on this, he is studying the linear and non-linear transient electrical response from light-induced superconducting states.

Bldg. 99, Rm. 02.057 , Phone: -88127
eryin.wang@mpsd.mpg.de

→ more

Humboldt Fellows

Albert Liu

Albert joined Andrea's group as a postdoc in March 2020. He is developing new multi-dimensional spectroscopic techniques in the infrared and terahertz frequency ranges, with the goal of studying both equilibrium and light-induced phases in complex solids.

Bldg. 99, Rm. 02.059, Phone: -88113
albert.liu@mpsd.mpg.de

Read more …

PostDocs

Mariana Chavez Cervantes

Mariana's research focuses on the study of nonequilibrium superconductivity in organic compounds with ultrafast transport techniques. Currently, she is developing microstructured devices on chip which integrate a coplanar stripline with an alkali-doped fulleride K3C60 thin film. With this technique, she can study the transport properties of the nonequilibrium superconducting state upon optical excitation in the mid infrared.

Bldg. 99, Rm. 02.055 , Phone: -88116
mariana.chavez-cervantes@mpsd.mpg.de

Read more …
Amit Ribak

Amit joined Andrea’s group as a postdoc in March 2019. He is interested in investigating light-induced superconductivity using ultrafast techniques in the presence of external magnetic fields.

Bldg. 99, Rm. 02.049, Phone: -88102
amit.ribak@mpsd.mpg.de

Read more …
Rashmi Singla

 

Bldg. 99, Rm. 02.049, Phone: -88106
rashmi.singla@mpsd.mpg.de

Read more …
Meredith Henstridge

Bldg. 99, Rm. 02.045, Phone: -88123
Meredith.Henstridge@mpsd.mpg.de

Read more …
Gregor Jotzu

Originally an atomic physicist, Gregor now investigates the creation of superconducting and topologically non-trivial phases using periodic driving in solids. He is performing mid-IR pump, THz probe experiments on organic materials, applying high-pressure techniques, and extending Floquet theory to solid state systems. He is also developing a setup to measure and switch magnetic fields on sub-picosecond timescales in order to investigate the magnetic dynamics of light-induced superconductors.

Bldg. 99, Rm. O2.045, Phone: -88125
Gregor.Jotzu@mpsd.mpg.de

Read more …
Bo Yuan

 

Bldg. 99, Rm. 02.057, Phone: -88117
 

Read more …

PhD Students

Joseph Adelinia

Joseph joined Andrea’s group as a PhD student in 2019. His research is focused on investigating light-induced superconductivity in the alkali-doped fulleride K3C60 via ultrafast electronic transport techniques. In particular, he is developing micro-structured devices incorporating MBE-grown K3C60 thin-films with the aim to probe on a picosecond timescale the nonlinear electrical response of the photo-excited superconducting state.


Bldg. 99, Rm. 02.065 , Phone: -88119
joseph.adelinia@mpsd.mpg.de

Read more …
Giovanni de Vecchi

Bldg. 99, Rm. 02.072, Phone: -88126
giovanni.de-vecchi@mpsd.mpg.de

Read more …
Dawei Fu

Dawei investigates control of superconductivity in high-Tc cuprates under external magnetic fields using pump-probe spectroscopy in the THz regime. He is currently working on experiments on La2-xBaxCuO4 with strong-field THz pulses, aiming at probing and manipulating states in which superconductivity coexists with charge and spin order.

Bldg. 99, Rm. 02.065, Phone: -88119
dawei.fu@mpsd.mpg.de

Read more …
Danica Pavicevic

Bldg. 99, Rm. 02.054, Phone: -88124

Read more …
Paul (Zhiyang) Zeng

Bldg. 99, Rm. 02.074 , Phone: -88110

email: zhiyang.zeng@mpsd.mpg.de

Read more …
Ting-Han Chou

Bldg. 99, Rm. 02.052, Phone: -88114
Ting-Han.Chou@mpsd.mpg.de

Read more …
Sebastian Fava

Sebastian joined the group as a PhD candidate in 2019. He focused initially on the study of THz optical properties of light-induced organic superconductors and later on the development of a very sensitive magneto-optic setup capable of probing the Meissner effect in the ultrafast regime.

Bldg. 99, Rm. 02.055 , Phone: -88109
sebastian.fava@mpsd.mpg.de

Read more …
Edward Rowe

Bldg. 99, Rm. 02.056 , Phone: -88112
edward.rowe@mpsd.mpg.de

Read more …
Niloofar Taherian Hosseinabadi

 

Bldg. 99, Rm. 02.065 , Phone: -88122
niloofar.taherian@mpsd.mpg.de

Read more …
Yaozheng Zhu

text

Bldg. 99, Rm. 02.074 , Phone: -88110
yaozheng.zhu@mpsd.mpg.de

Read more …

Beamline Scientists

Thomas Gebert

Thomas is developing an optical scheme capable of generating of mid-infrared pulses of tunable duration in the nanosecond range. In addition, he is involved in ARPES experiments.

Bldg. 99, Rm. O2.075, Phone: -88121
thomas.gebert@mpsd.mpg.de

Read more …

Guests

Matthias Budden

Matthias investigates lattice driven phase transitions in complex oxides with a focus on dynamic coherent stabilization of the transient state. To this end, he is developing a high power mid-infrared source with pico- to nanosecond tunable pulse length.

Bldg. 99, Rm. 02.052, Phone: -88114
Matthias.Budden@mpsd.mpg.de

Read more …
Frank Schlawin

Visiting scientist at the MPSD, Young Investigator programme at the Hamburg Cluster of Excellence ‘CUI : Advanced Imaging of Matter’

Bldg. 99, Rm. 02.037 , Phone: -88323
frank.schlawin@mpsd.mpg.de

Read more …
Stephen Clark

Stephen is frequently visiting our group within the ERC project Q-MAC. He provides theoretical support in understanding THz driven complex systems, such as cuprate high-TC superconductors or nickelates.

Lecturer at the University of Bath, Department of Physics
Email: s.r.clark@bath.ac.uk

Read more …

Distinguished Visiting Scientists

Hideo Aoki

Emeritus Professor
Department of Physics, University of Tokyo, Hongo, Tokyo 113-0033, Japan

Electronics and Photonics Research Institute
Advanced Industrial Science and Technology (AIST)
Umezono, Tsukuba, Ibaraki 305-8568, Japan

Visiting: June-July 2018

Email: aoki@cms.phys.s.u-tokyo.ac.jp

Abhay Pasupathy

Associate Professor

Dep. Physics, Columbia University in the City of New York   ⇒ Condensed Matter Physics
1307 Pupin Hall, Mail Code 5206
Phone: (212) 854-6335

Group Web Site

Visiting: Oct.-Dez. 2018

Email: apn2108(at)columbia.edu

 

Roberto D. Merlin

Peter A. Franken Collegiate Professor of Physics; Professor of EECS
Department of Physics, University of Michigan

Visiting: July 2021, May 2019, May-June 2018, May 2017, June-July 2016

Email: merlin@umich.edu

Paolo Radaelli

Professorial Fellow in Physics, Wadham College;
Dr Lee’s Professor of Experimental Philosophy at the Clarendon Laboratory,
Department of Physics, University of Oxford

Visiting: April/May 2019, May-June 2018, October-December 2017

Email: Paolo.Radaelli@physics.ox.ac.uk